The Abbess

I disembarked from the ferry and worked my way up the foggy trail to the front door of the Abbey. Strangely, I found that I was alone. My fellow travelers on the ferry had disappeared. After a moment of hesitation, I knocked on the heavy oak door. I heard the light patter and scuff of feet on the other side  and the jiggle of a latch. The door swung open. A teen-aged girl smiled at me but said nothing. She motioned me to come in and pointed towards an archway. I thanked her and then proceeded through the arch into a large hall. Out of the corner of my eye, I saw a pulsing glow. I turned towards the glow and saw a woman. I knew she had to be the Abbess.

Text and Image: L. Gloyd (c) 2009

 

Posted on March 5, 2009, in Abbey Residents, Lori's Choir Loft. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. lovely image, lori. i particularly like the architecture you chose and her jewelry.

  2. Actually, the architecture is from a photo I took of the inside of Powell Library at UCLA.

  3. She looks very serene, lovely image.

  4. I’ve been looking for her! It’s great to see that she will be so easily identifiable.

    Nice work with your imagery.

  5. She is so beautiful.

    Vi

  6. She is indeed lovely, Lori.

  7. The combination of the architecture and your enigmatic Abbess is very powerful Lori.

Leave a Reply

