A Circle of Sisters in the Abbey Garden

journeys of feet

From Series Walk in My Shoes

I touched down and placed my wings in my walnut. I came to what initially looked like a large ornately carved door, but as you looked closely at the door it appeared there was a much smaller door within the large one and that was the one I had to open.

As I went through it I came to some stone arches which curved over soft grass. I took my shoes off and felt the soft mossy grass through my toes. It was comforting to feel land again after being in the sky and on the ferry.

I pulled my tiny map out of the walnut and tried to make out its details. I wonder if it might hold clues to my grail, after all it seemed to have both the universal and my individual heart beat etched into it.

I could see a loaf of bread, a candle and a rock with nails on it. I touched the map and then the images vanished. What could this mean? Were they clues to my inner grail?
I continued to walk under the endless row of arches until I came to a cloister.

A nun was sitting on a stone bench, her fingers thumbing furiously through a book. She came upon what she was looking for in the pages and a deep sigh emanated from her.

As I went toward her I paused, maybe I shouldn’t really bother her, but as that thought entered my mind she looked up.

walk in my shoes

From Series Walk in My Shoes

“Ah, Unity, we’ve been expecting you.” She motioned to me, “This way child, you are to come to our area for inter-spiritual dialogues. They’re waiting.”

I followed her into the Abbey and now the archways covered cool stones that felt smooth under my feet. I saw arched windows that had tiny splinters of light peering into the large room. We didn’t stop there though.

We passed through the abbey it seemed to an outdoor area, with the most exquisite flowers, almost every fragrance and colour you can imagine. Roses, hibiscus, wattle – oh it was just so vibrant and lush. The scent of all the flowers rushed out at me and I took in the sound of hummingbirds and honeybees.

thankfulness. . .
From Series Walk in My Shoes

We came to a circle of people. I think there were nine or ten there.

A Buddhist nun in a humble orange habit clapped her hands
“Unity has come,”
They all jumped up and came to welcome me.
There was a slender Indigenous women from the Americas. She wore a dress with intricate geometric designs,
“The Great Spirit welcomes you,”
Then a young girl from India, with a red dot on her forehead came forward
“Hare Krishna.. and then Om….” Came from her as she bowed to me and to all gathered.
A small lady with large eyes and a simple white habit came forward.
“It is all in the actions what you do, that we will know if you can carry on the work we need done.”
The little girl from India, pulled at my sarong (“She speaks like that because she’s one of the nuns that worked with Mother Therese”)
Another woman with a long veil draped around her came to greet me next.
“We come here to remove all the spiritual veils we place around ourselves,”
She lifted her veil “I am in the company of women and so I will remove this for now.”
Another woman, who was I realized, the Angel of Water, but who was now young and dignified, came over to me.
“Unity please take a seat by me, my sisters we must begin. We can have any more introductions later.”

And so we formed a circle amongst all the brilliant flowers, in the simple garden in the inner sanctum of the abbey.

“And now sisters,” Angel of Water continued

“Consider the beauty of this garden, as diverse as we all are, combining for your enjoyment… what does it say to us?”

It was the first of many precious dialogues that were to take place in the Abbey, although sometimes we were left to take a place by ourselves and contemplate something set for us by the Angel of Water and sometimes other women in the group.

Such a radiant place, and such women I will never forget. They especially came to my aid when I was climbing a staircase that disappeared into nowhere. I had grown restless saying prayers in my cell and had gone for a wander and then climbed and climbed until there was no staircase below me or under me . . .

(to be continued)


believe in the possibility - dream

“I have a Dream,” From Series Walk in My Shoes


This post was inspired by J in A-Z Alchemy Soul Food Prompt

For Walk in My Shoes series

Also go and see this for great images of Abbeys

© June Perkins, all rights reserved images and words.

For more of this adventure head to Unity’s Cabin

Posted on March 3, 2009, in Abbey Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I really enjoyed this, June. Can’t wait for the next piece.:)

Leave a Reply

