Words in the Sand

Words in the Sand 

I wrote your name with words of love

upon the wet and hard packed sand

just as the tide was turning.

I stood silently and watched

as my words were taken,

drawn into the arms

of the restless sea.

 

Forever more my words of love

will live ‘neath ocean waves.

Forever they will be

my words of love to thee…

part of that ancient but restless sea.

The memory of the moments

it took to etch my love

into the wet and hard packed sand

will stay forever in my thoughts.

 

When my last breath is taken

and I leave this sheltered cove,

my soul will touch with love again

the words I wrote to you today

upon this windy shore.

 

Vi  Jones

©October 24, 2006

About woodnymph

I am an author, poet, and digital photographer.

Posted on October 24, 2006, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Vi, here’s the sixth time I tried this: THIS POEM IS WONDERFUL! Hey, it worked! 🙂

  2. Just beautiful Vi. So powerful and full of love and passion.

  3. Poignant and so artistic in the expression of the concept – as my words were taken,
    drawn into the arms
    of the restless sea
    so vivid.

  4. and if our soul is a place where needless rocks of anguish are gristed to fine sand —
    there is room for footprints there too —
    where you have placed a few

  5. Thank you all for your kind comments. I actually did this, you know, wrote that special someone’s name in the sand on the Oregon Coast. And I watched as the Pacific Ocean took my words and wrapped them in her embrace.

    Vi

  6. lovely words that evoke deep thought and reflection…well done!

    sage

  7. I have done similar things, years and years ago as a child I would build sand castles on the Oregon coast and then play and picnic until the tide took them down to Davy Jones locker…

    MotherBear
    p.s.

    Wherever the Catholic sun doth shine,
    There’s always laughter and good red wine.
    At least I’ve always found it so;
    Benedicamus Domino! – Hillaire Belloc

    __________________________

    Wherever Enchatuer’s moon doth glow

    One finds wild women all in a row,

    At least until bad WordPress smites,

    Up rises a chorus of “this bites.!”

    MotherBear

  8. This is truly beautiful Vi, truly beautiful.

    Morgaine.
    Camelot Scribe.

Leave a Reply

